Plant Talk - Gardening Forums

Hardening off Question

For help in growing and maintaining your favourite plants, from sowing seeds and staking perennials to pruning roses, shrubs and trees, join the discussion.

Hardening off Question

Postby tpausch2 » May 10, 2008 1:30 am

I'm a newbie at starting vegetables from seed (and gardening in general). I started the seeds in March and many of them are now twice the size of their containers and starting to flower (I must thank everyone on the forum. I don't think I would have been as successful thus far if it weren't for your postings).
My original plan was to plant my little veggies out in the garden on the long weekend in May, as is recommended for GTA residents, but because some of the plants are getting so big I'd like to pant some of them this weekend instead. I've done some reading on the hardening off process and there is a strong opinion that plants should be 'hardened off' for 10 days before being planted in the garden, and to not rush this process. I only started to bring my plants outside 5 days ago.
My question is, can I put my vegetable plants out now (if there is no foreseeable sign of frost) even though I've only been taking them outside for the past 5 days?

Tanya
tpausch2

Postby A Closet Canuck » May 10, 2008 9:04 am

You are right about hardening off. It is an important step in growing plants for outside. Unless you can control the night time temps outside it is best to continue hardening off.

Not only does the air need to be warmer but the soil needs to be warmer for some plants, too. If you google information for individual vegetables you will find minimum soil temperatures listed. I believe the minimum soil temp for tomatoes is 65F.

If your plants are getting too big and floppy you might consider transplanting them to a larger container and not fertilizing until you put them in the ground. My tomatoes go through two moves to larger containers before they go into the ground.