Plant Talk - Gardening Forums

Calcuim for Tomatoes?

For help in growing and maintaining your favourite plants, from sowing seeds and staking perennials to pruning roses, shrubs and trees, join the discussion.

Calcuim for Tomatoes?

Postby Venice » May 22, 2008 8:59 am

Ok so this year I was saving up my eggshells. Well I guess I hadn't told hubby about it, and when he took the garbage out, whooops there went the eggshells, ahhaha. So now I want to plant tomorrow or so and was wondering what else I should use. I don't have any calcuim tablets or powdered milk.

I've never used anything before, but know it can prevent bottom end rot, which I've never really had a problem with, but an oz of provention...well you know.

anyway suggestions are welcome.

Ven
Venice

Postby Durgan » May 22, 2008 10:29 am

Most tomatoe problems are associated with watering either by human hand or the natural rain, assuming the proper plant nutrients are available.

Calclium deficiency in the tomato plant is usually not lack of calcium in the soil but the take-up system of the plant. Excessive water can upset the plants digestive system, as can too little.

That said and done, I do place a calcium pill in the soil, while the tomatoes are in the pots. Whether this is effective or not I am not sure, but it makes me feel better. I might add that peas need calcium, and I do add a pill to the seed area when planting peas. Effective?

Tomatoe plants prefer even moisture, and this is sometimes difficult to determine, since one never knows how much moisture is actually getting to the root area. You throw the dice and take your chances.

This year I mulched heavily, and will sort of compare to last year, when I didn't mulch the tomato plants.
Zone 5 Brantford,ON
http://durgan.org/2011/
Durgan

Postby agedgardener2 » May 22, 2008 10:47 am

I had neighbor who used powdered milk on his tomatoes used to say he milked the tomatoes
agedgardener2

Postby Eeyore » May 22, 2008 12:23 pm