Plant Talk - Gardening Forums

castor beans

For help in growing and maintaining your favourite plants, from sowing seeds and staking perennials to pruning roses, shrubs and trees, join the discussion.

castor beans

Postby sweetnuts » Mar 27, 2008 11:49 am

I saved seeds from my castor beans plants, kept in fridge for the winter, some just in the storage room, planted 10 Feb. 9th/08/ nothing growing yet. Oh yes , I soaked some overnight in water before planting. I tried unsuccessully last year with no luck. Anyone have suggestions. thanks
sweetnuts

Postby Larkspur » Mar 27, 2008 12:15 pm

I have been growing caster beans for a few years now...and have success both planting indoors and out doors...they do take a long time to spout...weeks...be patient and they will grow...just don't let your soil dry out...always keep moist...mist with water bottle is good...which kind do you have the green or the burgandy ones...I always grow the burgandy ones they are so beautiful...good luck...and enjoy...Larkspur
Larkspur

Re: castor beans

Postby Durgan » Mar 27, 2008 12:18 pm

sweetnuts wrote:I saved seeds from my castor beans plants, kept in fridge for the winter, some just in the storage room, planted 10 Feb. 9th/08/ nothing growing yet. Oh yes , I soaked some overnight in water before planting. I tried unsuccessully last year with no luck. Anyone have suggestions. thanks

I don't know about the soaking, but I grow castor beans every year from last year's seeds, (which I collect very carefully-accounting for all). The seeds are bone dry, when collected. They are the most easily germinated seed that I encounter. My seeds are simply left in an outdoor shed all winter until required. Germination is 100%.
My method until they germinate.

http://chazaf.notlong.com/ 31 January 2008 Starting tomato seeds. Pictures of method.

http://jiurag.notlong.com/ 22 March 2008 New Seeding Container.
Zone 5 Brantford,ON
http://durgan.org/2011/
Durgan

Postby sweetnuts » Mar 27, 2008 2:15 pm