Fruit & Vegetable Gardening - Gardening Forums

Garden Research

Interested in growing a vegetable garden or a fruit garden? Whether you’re gardening indoors or outdoors, planting an edible garden can be easy and fun

Garden Research

Postby ming_15 » Oct 25, 2008 11:47 pm

Hello Everyone,

I am a student studying Industrial Design in my 4th and last year.

I am currently doing some research for my thesis project about community gardens and organic gardening. (mainly focusing on fruits and vegetables gardening)

I am interesting in any information about gardening.

And right now I'm looking at winter gardening.

As far as I know now, it is possible to grow in winter and the fruits and vegetables actually taste better since they store more sugar when exposed to cold temperatures.

Please tell me about any experience you have whether or not about winter garden or simply any experience about fruits and vegetables gardening in general.

Here are some questions that I have in mind. Please answer any of them if you have knowledge of it.

1) Most weeds are grown during spring and summer and dies off in fall, but there are also weeds grown during fall and winter. My question is, is it true that less time will be spent on weeding during winter? (as I know that weeding must be done weekly during summer time)

2) How successful is the growth of fruits and/or vegetables during winter? And are the plants under some sort of cover?

I will add more questions as they pop up... :oops:

Thanks in advance for your comments! :mrgreen:

Ming
ming_15

Re: Garden Research

Postby MareE » Oct 28, 2008 7:19 am

Hi again, Ming!

I can't answer either of your questions. I grow veggies at the community gardens you visited and no winter growing or weeding happens there as the Town plough comes in as soon as the soil is reasonably dry. Might be later than usual this year!