Fruit & Vegetable Gardening - Gardening Forums

Pepper plant problems

Interested in growing a vegetable garden or a fruit garden? Whether you’re gardening indoors or outdoors, planting an edible garden can be easy and fun

Pepper plant problems

Postby johnny_greenbeans » Mar 21, 2012 9:57 pm

I am still a beginner gardener and grew peppers last year for the first time. All in all it was a pretty successful growing season but I had a few problems. I grew peppers both on my patio in planters and in a garden plot at the community garden.

Problem 1 : The peppers on my patio (sweet banana, mini bell and a northern breed) all thrived and did very well. Except for one problem. My peppers would get spots on them, almost like rotting spots and this would consume the entire pepper like a cancer. I'm pretty sure it wasn't bugs. I was told it was too much sun. After I took them out of the sun this seemed to happen less (but I'm unsure) I live in southern Manitoba (Winnipeg area) close to the North Dakota border.

Is this a problem with peppers? I was giving them full day sun.

Problem 2: The peppers in my garden plot stayed very small and didn't seem to grow very much. They also had a very poor yield. Right from the start they grew poorly. I did however notice they were lighter green in color so could this have been lack of nitrogen or other fertilizers? Though my tomatoes, corn, cucumbers, radish, carrots and cherry tomatoes did very well there. Also my celery didn't do good there at all. I actually didn't fertilize there all year because everyone there told me you don't need to in that garden.

Sorry for the long message, just trying to learn and grow (pun intended :mrgreen: )
johnny_greenbeans

Re: Pepper plant problems

Postby Smitty » Mar 21, 2012 10:05 pm

what do you mean by full day sun??? my peppers(west of winterpeg) grow on the west side of my house.