Fruit & Vegetable Gardening - Gardening Forums

Pumpkins

Interested in growing a vegetable garden or a fruit garden? Whether you’re gardening indoors or outdoors, planting an edible garden can be easy and fun

Pumpkins

Postby ajarvis » Jun 14, 2012 3:52 pm

Question as I am new to gardening. So I had a couple hills of pumpkins started and I only had 2 so far germinate. Should I keep waiting or should i replant?
ajarvis

Re: Pumpkins

Postby Dumbo » Jun 15, 2012 12:09 am

Germinated how long ago? If it's only been a couple of days, wait 4-5 more days before planting more. Or just plant more now, and if the other come up, just thin it out a bit.
The internet is a very, very, serious entity created solely for commercial gains.
Canadian Gardening made me a hardcore separatist
Dumbo

Postby Eeyore » Jun 15, 2012 12:29 pm

I've had notorious results with squash. Sometimes they are slow to germinate and even then they don't always survive. I agreew with MArc, throw some extra seed in and if necessary thin out later.
Lyn
AB, Zone 3A
----------------------------------
“Those who say it can't be done are usually interrupted by others doing it.” ` James Arthur Baldwin"
Eeyore

Postby ajarvis » Jun 16, 2012 8:46 pm

the two that are there came up a couple of weeks ago. I have an ant problem too that the garden beside it I've lost my cucumbers too and the one where the ant colony is lost peas, and some green onions. I've poured boiling water on the actual ant colony but it's pretty big. once the garden is done for the year going to have to find a way to get rid of them. Maybe I'll try replanting some of the pumpkins this weekend.
ajarvis

Postby Dumbo » Jun 17, 2012 10:23 am

ajarvis,
I really have my doubts that it's the ants causing this. As said in another topic, I built my garden this spring over a huge colony of ants. I have no issues. Ants do not tend to be a plant issue on this continent. Even everything I search says the same.