Fruit & Vegetable Gardening - Gardening Forums

Just a newbie wanting to say hello!

Interested in growing a vegetable garden or a fruit garden? Whether you’re gardening indoors or outdoors, planting an edible garden can be easy and fun

Just a newbie wanting to say hello!

Postby MattyBlanco » Aug 06, 2012 7:33 pm

Hey, I am new to this forum, and just wanted to say hello. I have some experience in growing trees and just got my first cactus.

So far I have grown an Avocado Tree until my cat finally killed it at my old place :(. There wasn't any room to put it that the cat couldn't get it. But now I have a couple spare rooms which I am using for my gardening but only using one now. I just recently planted 10 Lemon Seeds and 6 of them have shown themselves within 2 weeks so far and I also have planted some Ruby Grapefruit Seeds and am germinating a Mango Pit (which already had it's tap root out for me :D)

Anyways, just wanted to say hello and get started in this forum :D
Growing Fruit Trees is A LOT of fun!
http://mathewsfruittrees.blogspot.ca/
MattyBlanco

Re: Just a newbie wanting to say hello!

Postby B_BQ » Aug 06, 2012 7:39 pm

Hi there:
Welcome to the forum.
I remember growing an avocado pit many moons ago. I think I stuck toothpicks in it and suspended it atop a glass of water, topping up the water on a regular basis until roots started. I then planted it and it grew to about 4' high.
When I was a little one in school we used to regularly grow carrot tops, and mustard cress on blotting paper. I think I must have been interested in gardening even as a 10-year old.
~BBQ
Zone 5b
South/Central Ontario

Every day may not be good, but there's something good in every day
~ Author Unknown
B_BQ

Postby MattyBlanco » Aug 06, 2012 7:46 pm

Thanks for the reply B_BQ! That's how I grow my Avocado's, it's interesting to watch them that way :). They are very fast growers, it's unfortunate that my cat destroyed mine :(
MattyBlanco

Postby Dumbo » Aug 10, 2012 12:18 am