Fruit & Vegetable Gardening - Gardening Forums

Raspberry leaves not doing well

Interested in growing a vegetable garden or a fruit garden? Whether you’re gardening indoors or outdoors, planting an edible garden can be easy and fun

Raspberry leaves not doing well

Postby dadelogin » Jun 02, 2013 4:43 pm

I am new to raspberry cultivation. We moved into our home in vancouver in the winter and have been taking care of a patch of raspberry (variety unknown). In the fall I pruned all of the stocks down to the ground and fertilized twice.

photo 2.JPG

In the past three weeks the leaves have come under attack. I first noticed that the leaves were getting holes in them

photo 1 (1).JPG

photo 2 (1).JPG

And recently noticed that some of the leaves are curling

photo 3.JPG

When examining the back of the leaves I noticed a few small yellowish green crawling larvea (looks like sawfly based on a web search). I squished the three I have found and not seen any since.

I have also noticed white spittle on the back of the some of the leaves and on some of thestalks. Inside the spittle I have seen small yellow/green bugs inside (looks like spittl bugs). I have squished all of the ones I have found.

Yesterday I sprayed a hard jet of water on the leaves. This morning I can't find any of the bugs.

I'm trying to garden organically but would consider a chemical insecticide if the alternative was loosing the crop.

Any suggestions?

Thank you in advance.
Attachments
photo 1.JPG
dadelogin

Re: Raspberry leaves not doing well

Postby Countryboy » Jun 02, 2013 8:52 pm

I don't know what the problem is with your leaves, or what type of critters u might be finding on them.

I can say tho, that if the leaves are being predated by 'chewing' insects, or crawling insects, a dash of Diatomaceous Earth will probably stop them. And the plus to DE is that it's easily available... and completely organic. :)
Adopt the pace of nature, her secret is patience.
.....Ralph Waldo Emmerson....