Garden Projects and Ideas - Gardening Forums

Overgrown Everything

Need advice about building a raised garden bed, double-digging or installing an irrigation system? This is the place to find the help you need!

Overgrown Everything

Postby shiny » Apr 27, 2008 11:11 am

I am completely new to this whole process as I have lived in Condo's my whole adult life so I could definitely use some guidance.

I moved into my new house in March. Once the snow melted, I had the fortune of discovering a unkept, weed infested garden and lawn. I found advice on this board regarding lawn care and called in the professionals. CHECK!

The garden beds however, are another story. I am using this opportunity to practice patience but honestly what a mess! The beds basically run into the lawn. In some areas it's difficult to tell where the lawn/weeds/crabgrass start and the garden bed begins.

I am looking for something I can do to give these beds a new fresh face so that i can rest assured that come next year I will have seen a lifecycle and get into it with some experience. The soil that is there is actually really good! The Dandelions are enjoying it too much! So I turned it and pulled out the dandelions.

A big part of me wants to just throw copious amounts of soil over the whole thing and start over. I also read about Sheridan Nurseries consultation service. I plan on using this as well.

Just thought your experience might give me hope!

Thanks All
shiny

Postby Scrapinthehat » Apr 27, 2008 2:26 pm

I would dig out anything you like and plant up somewhere else in the yard or even in a pot.

I was shocked when a greenhouse here advised me to use "round up" on anything that I didn't want. Leave it for a couple of weeks to make sure it has gone through to the roots, then dig all the old, dead stuff out.