Garden Projects and Ideas - Gardening Forums

Designing around a rose bush

Need advice about building a raised garden bed, double-digging or installing an irrigation system? This is the place to find the help you need!

Designing around a rose bush

Postby steamer » Feb 27, 2009 9:37 am

As I posted in the other forum, I am new to gardening. I am starting a new bed in the spring in front of my deck. The the bed will be about 16' long x 4-5' wide. The deck is raised 2' off the ground with a 42" high railing. The bed is full sun & I live near Kitchener, ON. (zone 5A). I have a explorer 'jens munk' rose that I am relocating & I am thinking of putting against the deck in the middle of the bed. The mature size is about 4-5'. I would like to place flowering shrubs on each side of the rose bush. As well, under the rose, on each side, I'd like lavender. Along the front of the bed I would like some boxwoods spread out with a mixture of dusty miller & purple annuals, such as pansies. Any suggestions as for companion shrubs for the rose bush? I was thinking maybe hydrangea, but I appreciate any advice, since I have no experience.

Thanks.
steamer

Re: Designing around a rose bush

Postby Eeyore » Feb 27, 2009 10:45 am

Personally, I'd go with more roses. Roses look very good planted enmasse. The also look very good with Lavender!
Lyn
AB, Zone 3A
----------------------------------
“Those who say it can't be done are usually interrupted by others doing it.” ` James Arthur Baldwin"
Eeyore

Postby Scrapinthehat » Feb 27, 2009 9:43 pm

I like the idea of more roses. I also think that barberries are a natural match with roses...maybe its the thorns.
Scrapinthehat

Postby Smitty » Feb 27, 2009 9:59 pm

you say Jens Munk gets only 4-5' high? that's what the catalogues say that I read to but I need a step up to deadhead and trim mine. fence in pic is 3 feet and I'm in zone 3a which tends to make things a bit smaller due to extreme weather and shorter growing season