Garden Projects and Ideas - Gardening Forums

Garden overhaul!

Need advice about building a raised garden bed, double-digging or installing an irrigation system? This is the place to find the help you need!

Garden overhaul!

Postby Funkadelic123 » May 16, 2009 2:17 pm

Hello

Let me start by introducing myself. My name is Chunky and I am a university student and a novice gardener. I live in Edmonton Alberta so I know I have a short growing season and I hope its not too late. I always wanted to do something with the beautiful garden plots I have (one in the front and a large one in the backyard, i will attach the pics) and after years of procrastinating (and neglect!) I have finally decided to do those plots some justice.

I would like some advice on how to get started, which flowers to grow, how many to grow, and how to get rid of those pesky weeds which have taken over my garden. I dont need anything special I just want the garden to look nice. I prefer annuals since I am experimenting and I will eventually move into perennials when I get more experience and knowledge. Or if there exists any plants that would combat the weeds for water and nutrients.

My frontyard plot is small (about 2-3 metres long and half metre wide) and faces south so it gets a lot of sunlight. There are some remnants of flowers or some other plant that my grandpa grew there years ago.

The backyard is whole different story!! Its huge (i would say 20m long and 2m wide) and is weed-ridden. Years ago my grandpa used to grow different kinds of veggies in there. Potatoes, carrots, cabbage, mint, and spinach among others. This stopped about 4 years ago. Last year i attempted to hoe out the weeds but found that the roots are quite thick and deep. The weeds obviously grew back this year albeit a little less dense in some areas. The backyard plot is at the northend of my house but still receives a lot of sunlight and the backyard slants toward the garden so it gets plenty of water.