Garden Projects and Ideas - Gardening Forums

1st house, 1st garden, bad lawn

Need advice about building a raised garden bed, double-digging or installing an irrigation system? This is the place to find the help you need!

1st house, 1st garden, bad lawn

Postby godaddy » Apr 25, 2010 5:35 pm

Hi all,

So I bought my first house and the lawn is terrible, lots of bad weeds, lots of dandelion.

What should I do to give make my lawn green and beautiful?

What are the steps?

I'm a totally noob at this, so I'll need more detailed steps.

Where do I start? I spent the whole afternoon yesterday removing the dandelion.

Woke up this morning and bam! Tons of dandelion reappeared ... :( :( :( so hopeless.

The lawn is not really green, it's like dry or something.

Where do I start? Soil? Fertilizing? plant weed seed?

Thanks!
godaddy

Re: 1st house, 1st garden, bad lawn

Postby Scrapinthehat » Apr 26, 2010 12:33 am

Although I have some grass, I'm not a big fan of it. Have you considered removing it and replacing with flowers or xeriscaping? If you must have grass, I've heard that corn meal applied regularly is an effective, organic way to control weeds. There are many weed and feed fertilizers on the market too. Good luck. (Keep an open mind about removing the grass since it requires a lot of time, energy, water, and fertilizer to keep it looking good...IMHO)
"Better to be a silly girl with a flower, than a silly boy with a horse and a stick."
Jocelyn, a character from A Knight's Tale
Scrapinthehat

Postby Countryboy » Apr 26, 2010 8:32 am

Detailed steps?? . . well OK. :)

1/ Leave the Dandylions where they are. A healthy lawn will eventually crowd them out. And u've got other things to do. :wink:

2/ De-thatch the lawn . . . either with a rake or a machine.

3/ Sometime when the soil is a bit moist rent an Aerator and go over the whole lawn.
.................................................................................

Now u can work on the lawn. :)