Garden Projects and Ideas - Gardening Forums

I don't like my shape!

Need advice about building a raised garden bed, double-digging or installing an irrigation system? This is the place to find the help you need!

I don't like my shape!

Postby JDuley » Jun 05, 2012 6:21 pm

Hello
Looking for some advice for the garden on the left side. The shape looks awkward with the walkway and I dont know what to do. It gets full sun and I prefer hardy perennials. I'm a beginner! Any advice is appreciated! Thanks so much
Attachments
IMG_3618.JPG
IMG_3618.JPG (66.5 KiB) Viewed 2402 times
IMG_3617.JPG
IMG_3617.JPG (62.49 KiB) Viewed 2402 times
JDuley

Re: I don't like my shape!

Postby B_BQ » Jun 05, 2012 8:21 pm

I don't find the shape too bad. Maybe you could make the outer curve match the curve of the pathway.
My opinion only, but I would like to see something taller towards the house; maybe a Pee Gee Hydrangea, Burning Bush, Weigela, Japanese Maple - something to draw the eye to the height of the house but nothing so dense that it covers up the window.
~BBQ
Zone 5b
South/Central Ontario

Every day may not be good, but there's something good in every day
~ Author Unknown
B_BQ

Postby awright » Jun 05, 2012 9:41 pm

I don't find a problem with the shape as much as the lack of colour. I would like to see a burgundy wegeila, Stella d'oro daylilly, autumn joy serum, and even a peony.
awright

Postby JDuley » Jun 06, 2012 9:16 am

You're right it looks very boring, maybe colour will do the trick. Thanks!
JDuley

Postby davefrombc » Jun 06, 2012 10:52 am

A nice red leafed Japanese maple would help set it off.
BC Fraser Valley zone 7/8
davefrombc

Postby Laura » Jun 06, 2012 10:53 am

Love your brick home .... yes color would be good and I think your planter next to the entry needs to be a bit larger also.
Laura

Postby Mygrandmeresgarden » Jun 06, 2012 9:08 pm

I agree with the others, your garden lacks color! It's easy to add color, so many beautiful perennials.
Mygrandmeresgarden