Garden Projects and Ideas - Gardening Forums

Front Garden Advice

Need advice about building a raised garden bed, double-digging or installing an irrigation system? This is the place to find the help you need!

Front Garden Advice

Postby STJOHNSEAST » Jun 14, 2013 9:00 pm

Hi, I'm a newbie here but just got started on my front garden that I've been neglecting since we moved in 2 years ago.
I'll attach some iphone pics but I've since removed the burning bush that's in the middle of the main bed and trimmed down the holly bushes and also filled up the beds with soil.
I have a list of plants that I already own that can be planted and would love some advice on what to put where.
The list includes; peegee hydrangea, 2 hydrangea, 1 peony, 1 Japanese Willow, 8 Geranium, 2 Phlox, 1 Butterfly Bush, and 1 Cedar. Of course I can purchase more plants!
I think that's it (without going outside in the dark to check!)

Would love to hear some words of advice!

We live in St. John's, Zone 5
Attachments
foh3.JPG
front of house 2.JPG
front of house 1.JPG
STJOHNSEAST

Re: Front Garden Advice

Postby conniepr » Jun 15, 2013 5:58 am

Zone 5... I wish! You could probably plant just about anything and have it survive the winter.

Sounds like you have a lot of very nice plants to use. Are they just bought and still in pots? If so, take them to the area you want to plant and just start arranging them in front there. Keep moving them until you find something you like. A few things to remember:

1) How big will the plants grow. For instance, that butterfly bush might be of the type that grows very big, so it might not be suitable for any of those small circle flower beds. The hydrangeas might grow 3-4' tall and/or wide, the peony might grow 2-3' tall or wide eventually. So you have the space in those three small flower beds?