Indoor Plants - Gardening Forums

Corn Plant

For advice and suggestions on indoor gardens, indoor plants, indoor propagation, hydroponics, and more, join in the Indoor Plants discussion.

Corn Plant

Postby thegardener » Nov 14, 2008 2:28 pm

Hello everyone. I'm new to the Canadian Gardening forums. I hope to learn and share here. :)

We bought a house in June that had a resident corn plant. This plant is growing around an inside pole. In June the plant was dark green but now the bottom leaves are drying up and the rest of the leaves are a paler green. Is this natural for this plant? Does this plant require a little water or a lot of water?
South Central BC
Zone 5
thegardener

Re: Corn Plant

Postby orchidguy » Nov 14, 2008 6:05 pm

Your dracaena fragrans "Massangeana" has the natural tendency to drop its lower leaves. The variegation that you are losing in the leaves is probably due to low light. They like to be kept evenly moist throughout the year, but not sopping wet. Welcome to the forum, and I hope this has answered some of your questions
orchidguy

Postby thegardener » Nov 14, 2008 7:00 pm

Thank you Orchidguy! That does answer those questions. I do have a couple more. This plant's leaves are solid green, not variegated. In the pictures I've seen of this plant, it had variegated leaves. Is that just a different variety of draecena fragrans? Also, should I try to get more light onto onto it somehow? Will the lesser light of winter damage it? I can't move it closer to the window because it is twisted around the pole.

Thanks again!
South Central BC
Zone 5
thegardener

Postby bluebird » Jan 13, 2009 11:46 am

Well I'm not orchidguy, but can answer your question methinks.

True Draceana fragrans is olive green with no variegation. (Fragrans is named for the very fragrant blooms stalks.)