Indoor Plants - Gardening Forums

Coleus (Solenostemon scutellarioides)

For advice and suggestions on indoor gardens, indoor plants, indoor propagation, hydroponics, and more, join in the Indoor Plants discussion.

Coleus (Solenostemon scutellarioides)

Postby angelinaottawa » Oct 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Coeus (Solenostemon scutellarioides)

I am new to coleus, any tips, advice?

Does anyone bring cuttings in for houseplant, or save for next spring? Tried germinating from seeds?

I did not have any this season, but at the end of it, I have lots of cuttings, put in small putting pots in my shelf in the basement. My friend said I can make these plants into houseplants, and give it light.
So far after rooting them in water, now I got lots of them. I am excited that these plants are old too, like from 1800s Victorian Era.

Many cultivars mentioned, yet I have maybe 3 types:
Coleus Brilliancy
Coleus Salmon Lace
Coleus Black Dragon
Coleus Wizard Sunset

Does anyone have cuttings to share around Ottawa area?
I was told it easily breaks if mailed, so gardeners within my area would be nice source. I am interested in cuttings of the green variety.
I might end up with too much coleus next season but their are always neighbors who likes plants. :)

Thanks and hope to read your coleus advice.

Angie

Any tips advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks
Angelina

"A sustainable, eco-friendly community starts with you and me!"
My blog is at angelinayyz.blogspot.com
angelinaottawa

Re: Coleus (Solenostemon scutellarioides)

Postby Lulu » Oct 24, 2011 7:43 pm

Angelina, the $ store had packages of seeds @ 3/$1.00; and they are really easy to grow, and you'll get a zillion plants out of one package. I did that a few years ago, and had an awesome variety of coleus; used them everywhere I needed color, then brought lots of them in, as houseplants. Ask at the buck stores, just in case they have some left at this time of year.