How the Keukenhof came to be
As we walk, Elisabeth recounts the interesting history of this 70-acre park. In the 15th century, a countess by the name of Jacoba van Beleren, used the grounds for hunting and for a kitchen garden—her castle was nearby. This is how Keukenhof got its name as it literally means kitchen garden. In 1949, with permission from the castle’s owner, it was turned into a place where bulb growers could showcase their product. This evolved into the spring park that over 45 million visitors have travelled from around the world to see since its opening.